Become Certified

Are you searching for certification in a specific field or industry?  ICE sets standards for accreditation of certification programs, but it does not offer certification programs directly.  However, there are several resources available through ICE and through other agencies to assist you with finding a program that meets your needs:

  • You may search the Directory of NCCA Accredited Programs, which will allow you to search for programs using specific keywords, names of certifying organizations or associations, acronyms, or by industry.
  • For access to a comprehensive database through Department of Labor, you may also find programs, including ones accredited by NCCA, through a comprehensive database called Certification Finder.
  • The Army and Navy both offer Credentialing Opportunities Online (COOL). These programs give you the opportunity to find civilian credentials related to your rating, or military occupational specialty. You can learn what it takes to get the credentials and learn about programs that will help pay credentialing fees. Check out the Army COOL website at : or Navy COOL website at: to learn more.

New Jersey Board of Nursing

If you are a registered nurse in the state of New Jersey and you need to renew your license, you must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education courses. Although the New Jersey Board of Nursing has referred nurses to the ICE website for a list of approved courses, ICE itself does not review or approve any type of educational courses for continuing education. It is our understanding that if you complete a course that has been approved by one of the nursing organizations that has a certification program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies, ICE’s accrediting body, credits received should count towards your required 30 hours. The following nursing organizations have NCCA accredited certification programs:

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Program (AANPCP)
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation (AACN Certification Corporation)
American Board for Occupational Health Nurses(ABOHN)
American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB)
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
Commission on Nurse Certification (CNC)
Infusion Nurses Certification Corporation (INCC)
National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA)
National League for Nursing (NLN)
Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC)
Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, Inc. (PNCB)
The National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, Gynecology & Neonatal Specialties (NCC)
Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Certification Board (WOCNCB)


Please visit the above organizations’ websites to find a list of their approved CE providers. Completing courses from these approved providers should count towards your required 30 hours. However, please understand that ICE/NCCA does not have the final authority to determine what will or will not count towards renewing your license, and, therefore does not guarantee that courses you complete will be approved by the NJ Board of Nursing for your license renewal.