National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) Standards

The first NCCA Standards were issued in the late 1970s. Since that time, the NCCA observed fundamental changes in the nature, scope, and importance of certification. In keeping with its service to the public and to various other stakeholders of professional certification, and in order to address changes in certification, NCCA undertakes periodic reviews and revisions of its accreditation Standards. The latest Standards revision project began 2013  and the involved numerous ICE members, representatives from a multitude of NCCA accredited organizations, the public and other interested parties. The NCCA Standards were revised and approved in November 2014 for a January 2016 implementation. 

Access the 2016 NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs © 2014 ICE. 

The NCCA standards are free to members and are available to non-members for a fee.

Standards On-Demand Training

Access a free on-demand training on the NCCA Standards.  The training highlights the application process and summarizes the intent and requirements of each Standard. 

Access the NCCA 2016 Standards Training.

Interpretation of Standards 

The NCCA Commission has released a formal interpretation of Standard 3: Education, Training, and Certification, Essential Element A.

Review Standard 3, Essential Element A Interpretation

Interpretation Requests

ICE will review and respond to requests for interpretation of specific Standards and Essential Elements. Such requests must be made in writing to ICE. ICE is the only body with the authority to formally issue interpretations of the NCCA Standards. Requests for Standards interpretations should be provided in writing to:

Linda Anguish, SPHR, GPHR
Director of Accreditation Services
2025 M Street, NW
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036