Institute for Credentialing Excellence

Assessment-based Certificate Accreditation Program (ACAP)

ICE launched its accreditation program for assessment-based certificate programs in 2012. 

The ICE 1100:2019 Standard was developed in order to provide guidance to organizations developing assessment-based certificate programs. It highlights the essential elements of a high-quality program, focusing on eight main sections:

  • Program Scope
  • Organizational Structure, Resources, and Responsibilities to Stakeholders;
  • Conduct and Oversight of Certificate Program Activities;
  • Management of Program Records, Documents, and Materials;
  • Quality Assurance and Program Evaluation;
  • Development, Delivery, and Maintenance of Education/Training;
  • Development, Conduct, and Evaluation of Assessments; and
  • Issuance and Use of Certificates.

Accreditation for professional education and training programs provides impartial, third-party validation that your program has met recognized national and international credentialing industry standards for development, implementation, and maintenance of education and training.

For specific information on becoming accredited, please use the side navigation.